Outrank alternatives — the honest list
Outrank is a good product and most people looking for an alternative to it are not looking for a reason to leave — they are looking for a shape it does not have: a lower price, more sites, more volume, or a different answer to what happens to a draft before it publishes. Below are the four we would actually name, with the price each vendor states on its own page, and Rankli in the position the facts put it. The Outrank comparison table further down is the same one on our head-to-head page, so nothing here is a version of Outrank rewritten for this context.
Every figure about Outrank below was read off their own live pages on 2026-09-04, and the URLs are printed further down so you can go and re-read them. Rankli’s side comes from the same files the server bills and validates from.
Built for busy founderssample
How this page was made. Everything claimed about Rankli below is a rule or a limit in the running product; everything claimed about the other product was read off their own live page on the date stamped above.
Rankli vs Outrank, feature by feature
A row appears here only when both sides of it are stated somewhere a reader can go and read. Where Outrank’s pages say nothing, the row is missing rather than filled in with a guess. Last verified September 2026.
| What | rankli | Outrank |
|---|---|---|
| Cheapest way in | $1 once for the Trial — 3 finished articles, nothing renews. The cheapest subscription is Starter at $89/month. | $99 per month for the All-in-One Plan. Annual billing is $999 per year, which their page describes as a $189 saving versus monthly. |
| Articles a month | 15 on Starter ($89), 30 on Growth ($349), 60 on Scale ($899), 90 on Agency ($1,200). A regeneration spends one, and keeps both versions. | 30 SEO-optimized articles per month, generated and published on auto-pilot. Their FAQ describes it as one article per day with a monthly limit of 30. |
| Free tier or trial | No free tier. The $1 Trial is a one-time charge that buys 3 articles on your own site plus one measurement round; trial drafts carry a one-line watermark. | Their FAQ says you can sign up and see keyword research and article generation for your website before subscribing, and that trial articles carry an Outrank watermark while subscribers receive unmarked content. |
| Sites per subscription | 1 on Starter, 2 on Growth, 4 on Scale, 5 on Agency — each with its own profile, voice, keywords, calendar and CMS connection. | Each website gets its own setup, and volume discounts apply automatically across the subscription: 2–4 sites 10% off, 5–19 sites 15%, 20–25 sites 20%. Over 25, their page says to contact them. |
| Publishes to | 10 connections: WordPress, WordPress.com, Webflow, Shopify, Wix, Ghost, Notion, Framer, Webhook and Next.js Blog. Each publishes as a draft or as a live post, and nothing is sent until the credentials have been verified to create posts. | WordPress, Webflow, Shopify, Wix, Framer, Notion, Ghost and a custom webhook, per their pricing table. |
| Images | A hero plus one or two in-body images with alt text. Photographic images need your own Replicate token; without one every article still gets deterministic SVG illustrations rather than a gap. | In-article AI images are included in the plan. A Premium Images add-on at $49/month is listed for a better model and custom presets. |
| Keyword volume and difficulty | Researched on every plan. Volume, difficulty and CPC render “—” unless you connect DataForSEO — never a substituted number, and never a zero standing in for one. | Their FAQ says keyword research is unlimited on every plan and is done on auto-pilot with live search volume and difficulty data. |
| Backlink exchange | An opt-in exchange, per site, confirmed before it is switched on: at most 1 exchanged link per article and 3 placements a week. | Included: their FAQ describes earning credits by hosting relevant backlinks and spending them to receive backlinks from other sites, verified automatically. Backlink Premium is $199/month and Backlink Enterprise $899/month for extra credits. |
| What stops a weak draft publishing | Fifteen checks run on every draft, including a fabricated-statistic check that flags an unsourced percentage, an invented citation and a quote attributed to someone; an article that never mentions what you sell, or a heading with nothing under it, fails on the same terms. A failed hard check regenerates the draft once and the result is recorded on the article — and “Hold drafts that fail checks”, a per-project setting, keeps it back instead of publishing it. | A Human Curated Service add-on at $1,399/month, described as professional human editors reviewing, fact-checking and polishing every article before publication. |
| Add-ons on top of the plan price | Three, all listed on our pricing page: 60 articles a month +$85/month, 90 articles a month +$160/month, premium images +$49/month. No annual plan, no volume discount and no crossed-out anchor price; a promotion code at checkout is the only discount that exists. | Listed on their pricing page: 60 articles/month +$85, 90 articles/month +$160, Human Curated $1,399/month, Backlink Premium $199/month, Backlink Enterprise $899/month, Free Tools Builder $199/month, Premium Images $49/month, Directory Submission $500 one-time. |
| Languages | 166, listed in the project’s output settings. The default is detected from your homepage and the writing brief is set to it; you can override it per site. | Their pricing page and homepage both state articles are generated in 150+ languages. |
What we left out, and why ✕ not stated on their page
- Article length. Their pricing page and homepage state no word count, so the row is left out rather than estimated.
- Internal linking. Not stated on either page we read.
- AI-answer visibility tracking as a measured, reported number. Their homepage talks about appearing in AI answers, but we found no per-plan tracking figure to compare against ours.
- Where their reported results come from. We found no statement about Search Console or another source, so we make no claim about it.
- How a draft is edited before publishing, outside the Human Curated add-on.
None of these is a claim that Outrank lacks the feature. It is a claim that we could not read it on their site, which is a different and much smaller statement.
Where Outrank wins
- Unlimited users on the plan, which they state on the pricing page. If a team of six needs logins, that is a real difference.
- Volume discounts across many sites — 10% to 20% off from 2 to 25 sites. Our Agency plan tops out at 5 sites and we have no volume discount at all, so an operator running fifteen sites is cheaper with them, straightforwardly.
- A human-editor add-on exists. Ours does not: if what you want is a person reading every piece before it goes out, they sell that and we do not.
- They have a longer track record and publish customer stories.
Where Rankli wins
- Every draft is scored against fifteen rules, the fabricated-statistic check among them, and the result is written onto the article: a failed hard check regenerates the draft once, and switching on “Hold drafts that fail checks” holds it back instead. That runs on every plan, not as a $1,399/month human-editor add-on.
- The measurement is the product, not a claim. Every plan tracks questions across four AI engines, and from Growth up the readout is a pre-registered experiment against a held-out control rather than a before-and-after chart.
- Traffic numbers come from your own Search Console and are never estimated or zero-filled. A day Google did not report shows “—”.
Each of these is a rule in the running product — the publish gate, the fabricated-statistic detector and the propose-and-accept editor are code, not positioning, and the pricing page states the limits they enforce.
What people actually move to.
Each price below was read on that vendor’s own page in the same pass as the table above. We are on this list in the position the facts put us, which is not first.
RankYak
$99/month for 30 articles a day-by-day, with a three-day full-access free trial and an agency model that prices every client site the same as the first.
Best for. Anyone leaving Outrank who wants the same shape of product at the same price, and agencies with more than a handful of client sites.
SEObot
Subscriptions start at $49/month, with a full refund on the $49 plan if you are not satisfied after the first article.
Best for. Founders who want the cheapest fully autonomous option and do not need a published tier table before committing.
Byword
Starter $99/month for 25 articles, Standard $299 for 80, Scale $999 for 300, and a free start with 5 articles.
Best for. Publishing at volumes nothing else here reaches — 300 articles a month is more than three times our largest plan.
Arvow
Business at $149/month list covers 5 websites, with white-label SEO reports and sub-accounts.
Best for. Agencies and multi-site operators who need to resell under their own brand today.
Rankli
$1 once for 3 articles, then $89/month for 15. More per article than everything above.
Best for. People who want a draft that can be stopped before it publishes and a citation change they can attribute to a control — and who are willing to pay more per article for it.
Whether an assistant cites you is measurable.
Most tools in this comparison stop at “published”. Rankli asks 4 answer engines the same questions every month, records which sources they cite, and reports the change against a held-out control — with the prediction written down before the follow-up data exists.
- 4
- answer engines asked, every month
- 240
- tracked questions on Growth
- ~4.6pp
- the smallest change that tier can resolve
Those three are constants of the product, not counts of anything a customer did. The estimator’s own calibration — including where it misses — is published.
Rankli vs Outrank, answered
Is Rankli cheaper than Outrank?
No, and not by a little: Outrank is $99/month for 30 articles and our Growth plan is $349 for 30. Our Starter plan is $89 for 15 articles, which is still more per article. If cost per published article is the decision, they win it. What the difference buys is the measurement and the publish gate.
You both run a backlink exchange. Is yours safer?
We are not going to claim that. Rankli ships an opt-in backlink exchange too, and any claim to the high ground there would be false. What we can state is our own limits, because they are constants in the code: at most 1 exchanged link per article and 3 placements a week, opt-in per site and confirmed before it is switched on.
How current are the Outrank figures on this page?
Every one of them was read off outrank.so on the date stamped at the top of this page. Follow the source links and check them; if a figure has moved, tell us and we will correct it.
Read three of them before you decide.
$1 once buys 3 finished articles on your own site, in your own voice, plus one measurement round. Nothing renews, and if the writing is not right you will know within a week.